Advancing Research Committee

Canada’s research libraries play pivotal roles in the creation and long-term stewardship of the scholarship produced at universities—whether new faculty publications or the research data upon which new scholarship is built. They also provide access for students, faculty, and researchers to the world’s information resources.

Mandate and Role

The Advancing Research Committee develops CARL positions, priorities, and initiatives that collectively aim to foster a sustainable scholarly research ecosystem in Canada, whether at the stage of new knowledge creation or at later stages of its dissemination, use and preservation. While maximizing open access to scholarship is a clear objective, the ultimate goal is to create a healthy, integrated scholarly communication environment to serve the interests of Canadian research, learning and scholarship.

Read the complete Terms of Reference of this committee.


  • Alexandra Freeland (National Research Council Canada, Federal Science Libraries Network)
  • Beth Sandore Namachchivaya (University of Waterloo)
  • Catherine Steeves (University of Western Ontario)
  • Carol Shepstone (Ryerson University)
  • Dale Askey (University of Alberta)
  • Donna Bourne-Tyson (Dalhousie University)
  • Frédéric Giuliano (Université du Québec à Montréal)
  • Gwen Bird ( Simon Fraser University)
  • Jonathan Bengtson (University of Victoria)
  • Joy Kirchner (York University)
  • Lesley Balcom (University of New Brunswick)
  • Loubna Ghaouti (Université Laval)
  • Mark Robertson (Brock University)
  • Rebecca Graham ( University of Guelph)
  • Sylvie Fournier (Université de Sherbrooke)
  • Stéphanie Gagnon (Université de Montréal)
  • Susan Haigh (CARL, ex-officio)
  • Talia Chung (University of Ottawa)

Active Sub-Groups of this Committee

Past Sub-Groups of this Committee