Workshops for the library community on SSHRC’s Aid to Scholarly Journals grant program

The deadline for applications for the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) Aid to Scholarly Journals funding opportunity is fast approaching. This grant provides up to $30,000 of funding per year over three years to enable journals to explore innovative activities as well as to help them to defray the costs associated with publishing scholarly articles, digital publishing and journal distribution on Canadian not-for-profit platforms.

These workshops were organized by Sonya Betz (University of Alberta) and Mariya Maistrovskaya (University of Toronto) in partnership with SSHRC and with support from CARL. There will be two webinars, one in French and one in English, specifically aimed at journals hosted by Canadian academic libraries. Journal editorial teams and librarians are invited to join representatives from SSHRC to learn more about the Aid to Scholarly journals grant, and to ask questions of the experts regarding the eligibility, application process, and adjudication of the grant. If you are considering applying for this grant or if you offer support to journals that are applying (or would just like to know more) please join us!

French session (90 minutes):

August 13, 2021, 9:00 am MT / 11 am ET
Please register at: https://bit.ly/3f5jCQE
Presenters:
​​Sébastien Demers, Senior Program Officer, Research Grants Portfolio, SSHRC
Auriane Kerrison, Program Officer, Research Grants Portfolio, SSHRC
Hosted by: Tomasz Mrozewski, York University and Sarah Severson, University of Alberta

English session (90 minutes):

August 18, 2021, 10:00 am MT / 12:00 pm ET
Please register at: https://bit.ly/3j0RNtZ
Presenters:
Dina Guth, Acting Manager, Research Grants Portfolio, SSHRC
Emma Yoxon, Program Officer, Research Grants Portfolio, SSHRC
Hosted by: Sonya Betz, University of Alberta